Grammar Tidbit

Photo Credit Used under a CC license
Photo Credit Used under a CC license

I can never remember the grammar rule for “lie/lay.” The other day a writer I know said something to me about this; I think the distinction has fully stuck to my slick and porous brain. She said:

“We LAY objects down. But you, as a subject, must LIE down.”

Ever the smart-ass, I said “what about the prayer, ‘now I lay me down to sleep . . .'”.

But she was ready for me. She said “In that sentence ‘me’ is the object, ‘I’ is the subject.”

And the stars twinkled in the sky, and a million angels high-fived me. I think this has finally soaked in.

Also, fuck you, Mrs. Valensky (my eighth grade English teacher). Why couldn’t you make it so simple?!

2 thoughts on “Grammar Tidbit

  1. LOL! Oh my gosh I loved the last paragraph there. It would have been nice had teachers been able to make things like that simple! Thank you for sharing; I’m always having trouble with lay/lie too!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

